horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Arrowed

Now I should say that, strangely, I've never been that bothered by the Red Arrows 'per se'. But there's a nostalgia hit every time I see them.

I was 15, going to the Leuchars Airshow with a friend. We were cadging a lift on the local ATC coach, but completely left to our own devices when there.

As we stood chatting to a Tornado pilot and navigator, beside their static, parked-up plane, the Red Arrows took to the sky. At which point the navigator lifted up the barrier and took us up to sit on top of the Tornado to watch the display... Of course I spent half the time staring into the cockpit trying to work out what each of the switches and levers were.

So I was always going to watch as they passed the house on their way to the Castle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.