simisue

By simisue

ST. FRANCIS LABYRINTH

On August 22 I posted a Blip of a LABYRINTH near a sentinel oak tree, that was built by a man & his daughters as a COVID-19 project.  From my research. I discovered there is another STONE LABYRINTH in our city, at
St. Francis of Assisi Episcopal Church & Contemplative Outreach Center.

I visited this 6 acre campus today, & immediately felt a sense of calm, even as I wander around looking for the STONE LABYRINTH.  My path led me through a Biblical Garden with the Stations of the Cross,  a fig tree hedge along a wall & herbs that are featured in the Bible.  I was followed by 
2 Steller Jays, who were quite vocal with their welcome.  

I found the STONE LABYRINTH located under a COAST LIVE OAK TREE
where it was tranquil in the shade. (SEE EXTRAS) It is larger than the other labyrinth & had several places to sit.  I tried walking the labyrinth
while meditating, which was quite a lovely experience.  

When I returned home, I Googled  the church's website & discovered 
the Rev. Sarah Kitch is the pastor.  Their Sunday services are
through Zoom, but she posted this advice on the website, which must be related to the upcoming presidential election::

"Post wisely over the next few months.
Contribute to discourse, not division.
Check your facts.
Resist memes & cheap digs.
Create beautiful content.
We can transcend the bitterness & be better,
even when we disagree."
- -Rev. Sarah Kitch

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.