ARU

A new frontage for one of Anglia Ruskin University’s main buildings, which caught my eye. I hadn’t realised the University’s brand used a heron, however the website tells me that this ‘represents self-actualisation, determination and focus’. Heaven knows what self-actualisation is, but anyone who’s seen a heron stalk a frog in the reeds will agree on the determination and focus part.

Today was a good day of feeling both productive and sociable. During my late lunch break I met with Helen in a nearby churchyard. Despite the very strong winds that should have blown away lightweight insects, wasps hounded us as we snaffled cakes from the bakery across the road. Helen’s daughter fell asleep as we talked, and rather than chuck her back into the bike seat, Helen stayed put in the windy churchyard when I resumed my position at my laptop.

Another key event was that I had to right a cluster of bins that had been sent flying in all directions by the wind. Luckily their contents had been emptied earlier in the day, or it would have been a messier task.

Finally, I drank a fruity pineapple cider, channelling tropical vibes, and sampled a wrap from a newly opened Syrian restaurant close to where we’re staying. I also impulse bought a vegan lemon cake. Tastier than expected.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.