10 years on the path

Well, today marks 10 years worth of Blips. It's a little over 10 years since I first posted because occasionally life (and one deleted entry because of disputed nudity) got in the way. In those 10 years, quite a lot has changed but I'm still travelling a positive path.

In 2010, I was working for a Bank and posting for fun. In 2012, I won an experience with Blip to photograph the Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo. One of the shots from that event has proven to be one of my most bought photographs. In 2013 I had a chat with my boss at work and started the process of redundancy, I also gained the LRPS distinction. By May 2014, I was out of the corporate rat race and became an entrepreneur. My photography workshop business has gone from strength to strength, I have some pretty impressive clients for my photography PR work and I am regularly published in newspapers. In July 2015, I went on a date and we've been seeing each other since. In 2016 we moved in together. In 2018, I accompanied Martin Bailey running a photography tour of Namibia. I also won an award in the Scottish Press Awards. 2019 brought forward a contract to write a book about photography locations. 

Then 2020 happened... I asked Fiona to marry me and she said yes. Then two weeks later I fell at one of the book locations and broke my ankle. Six weeks of not working, followed by more weeks of enforced lay-off due to COVID. I used the time to write an e-book. Somehow, I also produced enough decent photos to produce a calendar of locations around Scotland Both of these are on sale to try and make up 6 months of lost income - fortunately bookings are starting to come back in and I'm feeling positive that I'll continue to make money from taking photos.

Just like the scene on the 10th anniversary of blipping, the path may have some ups and downs, the odd bump on the track but the best thing to do is follow the path to wherever it leads and enjoy the view.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.