Heirloom

It is recommended that if you have visitors to your home and they want to use the bathroom, you supply them with hand towels for individual use. I have a drawer full of towels of all colours, shapes and sizes but it seemed the right occasion to bring out these little treasures, They are a set of four embroidered linen guest towels, with my mother’s laundry mark sewn into one corner. (See extra). It must have been such a luxury to send ones washing away to the laundry and receive it back all washed and starched. It gives me pleasure to set these little towels out, ready for visitors but in fact when I have had people here, they have only used them once!
Today I have been back on Talking Newspaper duty for the first edition since the start of lockdown. We have been collecting articles from the local papers for a month but it wasn’t easy to find enough. I am an “editor “, one of the team who cuts out the articles from the local papers, ready for a team of readers who record on a Thursday evening. So little is happening that the papers fill up with general articles produced by a central agency. We will be producing a monthly edition for the time being for this reason, collecting news items over a whole month, but I know the weekly recording will be missed by our listeners.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.