Pixelfoto's Journal

By Pixelfoto

Up the Garden Path

Earlier this week we pre-booked a visit to the walled garden at Helmsley. A bit late to see the herbacious borders at their prime but it was good to be there and enjoying the fresh air. The cafe was open and we enjoyed a lovely lunch. It was a visit tinged with sadness as I realised that the last time we were there was when we met up with Viewpoint and Ann at the end of July 2018.

There was a one way system in place in the garden which meant we saw most of it rather than missing bits such as the area with a lot of apple trees.

The weather today was not as good as had been forecast when I booked the tickets. A bit damp and dreary. However the flower in extras was looking cheery and I found out from one of the volunteer gardeners that it is an annual called Tiphonia or Mexican Sunflower. I'm not that good at growing from seed but if I remember next year I might look out for some.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.