Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Sights from my Bike Ride

Going for a bike ride is so much better than going to the dentist!  I had an early appointment this morning.  I even had to set my alarm!  I was almost ready to leave when my phone rang and it was the dentist's office calling to reschedule my appointment.  I was a little irritated but I know that things happen and it definitely wasn't the receptionist's fault.  So I changed into my bike clothes and took off on an early ride. :-)

It was a beautiful morning and the sky was a little bluer than yesterday.  It's still smokey but much better.  I'm not sure why, because the closest fire is still at 0% containment and has burned 22,000 acres (about 35 square miles).  

Top row:  Twelve-spotted Skimmer with tattered wings. 
                 A little girl walking her pet rhino.  This is a decal on the back window of a car.  When I noticed the reflections, I moved until I had them on the roof. :-)  
                 Barn Swallow, actually sitting still.  I rarely see them perched.

Middle:    Sign from a whiskey distillery in a small town along the way.
                 A park that has been beautifully rebuilt after a huge flood in 2011.
                 Sign from a 20 acre outdoor music festival venue.  It's a beautiful location on the St. Vrain River with lots of room for festival goers to camp.         

Bottom:   Swainson's Hawk (dark morph) - first one I've seen this year.
                  Derelict caboose.  I almost passed it before I noticed its scary driver.
                  Swainson's Hawk (light morph) in flight.  

I rode a 30 mile loop.  I am grateful that my dental appointment was rescheduled!  :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.