Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

Verandah Cracks Left and Right.
Caroline, Fiona, Jill and I. 

Edit: I decided to climb the left crack, it looked okay and I'd already done the right one some time ago. My first bit of gear went in at the top of the narrow part of the crack, and I knew it wouldn't help much if I fell. The next opportunity to place gear was in the horizontal break about a metre up, but I needed a handhold to place it and that hold wasn't good. It was slopey, I was off balance, I made the decision and began to come down... at which point I fell, I'm not sure about exactly what happened but there I was sliding down and landed, thankfully on grass, facing outwards, on my left heel. But I was okay, I could walk, slowly, and climb normally... so I did. Fi had a go at the route but couldn't do it, and then Caroline climbed the right crack so that we could all climb the left one, which of course I managed perfectly on the rope! Fi was upset that she hadn't been able to save me, but I wasn't high enough, there was nothing she could've done. In retrospect someone could've spotted me and perhaps absorbed some of my fall, but it happened so quickly. On Tuesday I had my foot x-rayed and nothing's broken, just badly bruised. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.