Argh!

This morning I was working away when a spider strolled up the wall behind my monitor. I didn't look at it too closely, it was about the size of Basingstoke, but I'm from Manchester and these things don't worry us. I picked it up, gently, and started for the door so that it could enjoy a nice sunny morning outside. The thing bit me.

I let out the sort of language that our dear Queen might last have used when she heard that Paul Burrell was on telly talking about Princess Diane again, and I dropped it. I have any number of ointments and unctions and creams from when I used to take the children camping (this stuff doesn't go off does it?) and I slapped some of that on it. Then I started learning how to type without using the index finger of my left hand, a skill I might need to further develop if the swelling doesn't go down and my finger falls off. It's a few hours later now and my finger is still very sore and slightly swollen.

I mentioned all this to a colleague and she said that I should watch for them falling on me while I'm asleep so that's my nightmares sorted for the next few weeks.

Later: Glanced around and saw this up in the corner where it's difficult to reach (hence the old cobwebs). I don't know if it's the same one - I hope that it is as I'd hate to think that there are more of them - and we keep giving each other side-eye. I can't reach it to bash it, my gentle liberal plan to release it outside has gone now, so I'm watching and waiting. and hitting RightMove to see if I can afford to find somewhere else to live.

If I don't Blip tomorrow...............

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.