Siete años/Seven Years

A few days ago, I participated in a Zoom workshop called Cultivating Empathy and Connectedness @ Home presented by the Los Angeles County Museum. We looked at 3 works of art, one called “Falling Star” by Romare Bearden, and two quilts made by African-American artists Laverne Brackens and Rosie Lee Tompkins. The purpose was to discover what guides the art process, the histories we carry within us, and the stories we draw upon. A question they asked the participants was: “What has been something important to have around during this time of quarantine?” My answer came quickly: my camera.
For me, the things that have sustained me and brought me serenity throughout these trying times have been my camera and the blip community, my family, friends, walks, books, nature, and art. 

It’s been seven years now in which I have persevered in the ritual of taking a photo a day and sharing it with you. I feel very lucky. Not only because it’s great to be part of this world of images from all over the world but for the enrichment a camera brings to your life. It has taught me to observe, compose, work with light, document, and share. Blip gives us the opportunity to create something extraordinary from the ordinary.

Photo courtesy of CaliforniaGirl.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.