wrperry

By wrperry

Two Surprises

In all of the hours I've spent out in the yard, especially this summer, I have never had the two experiences I enjoyed today.  First was spotting a hummingbird moth which was very briefly flitting about the Buddleia.  I was aiming at the bush, following around two swallowtails, when I spotted this little visitor.  I wish it had stayed longer, but at least I managed to get a couple of shots.
  
Then, I was sitting in a chair about four feet from the hummingbird feeder, when a female hummer hovered in front of my face, getting closer and closer until she was about a foot from my nose.  I really thought she might perch on my shoulder, she was so close.  What a treat.  Perhaps she wanted to tell me that the feeder nectar needed refreshing, which was true, so of course I complied.  Anything to encourage her to come back.

Anni, thank you for faithfully hosting the flower challenge!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.