All change

I had my eyes tested before Covid struck, but never got round to deciding on new frames. Both long and short vision had changed, so my variefocals were going to be a stronger at both ends of the spectrum. 

Quite a performance choosing frames. I point at one, the dispensing assistant puts them in a tray, I take my mask down, try them on, if I like them they go into a "short leet" tray, otherwise into a tray to be decontaminated.  Luckily I had Mike to offer advice and opinions, but it still took a while! I worked my way through a good few and then all the adjustments needed to be made to chosen frame were noted.  Usually, they are all done at the time of collection. 


A bit of a rigmarole, remembering not touch anything, mask up which talking or facing anyone but down when trying them on, not mixing up "dirty" and "clean" frames. The optician and dispensing assistant were saying how much extra work it was for them too, and they are only able to see half the number of people they usually see.  

I've been doing a lot of sewing and knitting during lock down and really struggling with close work. It's easier to take my current glasses off and skint to get things in focus! Really looking forward to seeing a difference with my new ones.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.