Squirrelling away

I had a haircut early doors, now that it’s possible to visit salons. My faithful hairdresser Todd is still plying his trade in Cambridge, albeit now with an orange mask to match his hair dye. My hair was dealt a much-needed taming and I then caught a train to London. Today’s advice would be to not wear the same mask during a haircut and a subsequent train journey as hair will be coming out of your mouth throughout, and it will lessen the enjoyment of an iced coffee.

It was a roasting day in London, but I had a Boris (why don’t we stop crediting him with this scheme which I’m positive wasn’t his brainchild) bike and Giles as a tour guide with his knowledge of central areas of the city. In Hyde Park we got a pedalo on the Serpentine, which was blimin’ hard work and I’m claiming weeds were clogging the mechanism as we puffed our way around the lake. Then for a few hours we strolled and lounged in the nicer, quieter areas of Hyde Park, consuming a thousand fizzy drinks and ice creams to replace fluids lost to sweating. This squirrel was posing very close to the path thanks to someone pouring a load of peanuts into the nook of a tree.

Hyde Park was followed by chicken on a bench in Soho Square, which is lively on a Sunday with all manner of characters. In the evening I reluctantly caught the train back to Cambridge after an excellent hot day of tropical holiday vibes in London.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.