ferryoons

By ferryoons

Gaultheria Muconata Wintertime

Well that's easy for you to say, but it's a mouthful for me.

I found out what it is in the time honoured way, taking a photo and asking Mrs F,  "what's this then?" She responded, also in the traditional way, producing 576 pages of Royal Horticultural Society plant guide and finding it. Well, she is a time-served librarian of some repute.

It's described in the book as a "spreading" shrub. I'll say it is. That's a horticultural way of saying it expands like a weed. A the bottom of our garden it has encroached at least three feet since anyone last touched it, and marched right through a flower bed and out the other side. This summer I've been having a good old hack.

I took this shot beside the path on the daily walk dog walk, and I noticed it was at least a foot closer than it was a year ago. Another season and the path will need some clearing.

Anyway, when we finish our renovation and move out of this rented house, there won't be any Gaultheria in our own garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.