Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Yet Another Collage

Two new things and one not so new. The halloween pennant dragonfly you've seen before - in the same spot oddly enough, although not the same insect. You may remember the previous one had wings that had been lopped off at the ends. This one was hawking from the same place! And also let me stick the phone in its face, like the previous one did. Not only that - I had to hold the thing it was sitting on because it was blowing in the breeze and I had to hold it still to get the shot. The sweet thing just sat there and smiled while I did that. Bless its heart.

The wildflower is sweet everlasting - which I know I've seen before, but have never bothered to identify. Apparently they are ever-lasting and thus nice for flower arrangement. And the flower doesn't open much more than this - it looks like buds - but that's the way they look.

The katydid is a straight-lanced meadow katydid. They are named for the ovipositor of the female. This one in fact appears to be a female.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.