Returning to my Roots

Fifty years ago this month I first visited this area.  My parents brought their five kids here camping, I was nine, my sister just a babe.  We stayed across the valley from where this shot was taken and travelled on the Talyllyn for the first time while we were here.   On that first train ride we spotted the campsite next to the line at Rhydyronen and a chorus of "Can we camp there?" went up.   Much to our surprise our parents decided to up sticks and moved the tent to  the field by the line for the last few days of our holiday.   It was the start of a love affair that has lasted half a century.   Until a few years ago we had a family caravan on the site and tonight Jamie and I visited our good friends who still occupy the van next to where our van used to be.   The view of the sunset is as good as it ever was.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.