AnnieBelle

By AnnieBelle

Stair(s)

Today I popped myself down to the Charles Perkins Centre. It's a multidisciplinary research centre at Sydney Uni, with a focus on diabetes, cardiovascular disease, obesity and related illnesses. The Centre was established in 2012 and its architecture on the inside is incredible. I saw photos of it ahead of going there and it reminded me of New York's Guggenheim. I had fantasies about walking right to the top of the six levels of stairs winding around a massive atrium. But it was not to be. I was denied access and had to stay on the ground floor.

My main shows actual stairs which were essentially the only visible ones. The extra gives a view of the staircase as I looked up at it.

Charles Perkins was an activist for social and political issues impacting Aboriginal people, and the first Aboriginal person to gain a university degree, which he did in 1965. He had a long career in various positions in public service. In the 1980s, during my short teaching career, Dr Perkins came to the school and addressed the students, many of whom were Aboriginal. He had them spellbound.

Thanks for hosting Chantler63. Stay well all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.