simisue

By simisue

DANGER AHEAD

Today is the last day of August.  Summer flew by in a flash!

A few days ago, I was walking Angus & Scout in our neighborhood.
On the way home I looked ahead on the sidewalk, & saw a BOBCAT
jump through the fence, grab a rabbit & drag it down the slope.
It happened very fast, but was was quite disturbing for a variety of reasons. 
Scout was terrified.

Because we live surrounded by open space, I know BOBCATS
are probably around all the time, but I was shocked to see this lethal hunter in action.   Also, I  was surprised at how small it was, not much bigger than a house cat.

There have been many times, while walking  in the neighborhood, when Scout stopped, reared  up on her hind legs to look around, then turned  to go home.  I always assumed this smart dog sensed danger, so Angus & I always followed her home, in a hurry.  Now I know she did sense danger all those times.

Unfortunately, this rabbit did not get the memo about this small predator lurking on the other side of the street.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.