Silver Y Moth

Another lovely day so another great walk.  I live very close to the Montgomery and Llangollen canals which is why canals feature often in my blips as I often walk along different stretches.  

We decided to walk a linear stretch on the Montgomery that we hadn't joined together due to it's length.  Today we put a car at each end and walked from one to the other so were able to get much further with not having to walk back too.  There were lots of butterflies, bees and other small creatures including this Silver Y moth.  It's name is due to the silver Y marking on it's wings that an be seen on my photo. I also saw a very tatty common blue butterfly, I was surprised to see one so late in the year. 

The highlight was seeing a kingfisher flashing along the canal - far too fast for a shot though!

When we were almost at the end of the walk we met my next door neighbours who were walking their dog so we stopped and had a chat with them.  Then we met a couple of ladies that walk their dogs past my house and then a lady that I know from my art group.  I think that the locals were staying close to home to avoid the Bank Holiday traffic and crowds.

The extra is of a seahorse seen by the canal bank.  I hope that it will cope with being out of water for so long!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.