maureen482

By maureen482

GRAFFITY.

We drove home this morning from the Watlington caravan and camping site. We had a great time and we’re off again on Thursday to a site at Abingdon. Just after we arrived home my friend rang and asked if I wanted to go for a walk with her. So we went to Amersham and walked to Chelfont St Giles. My blip for today is some graffiti I seen on a bridge we walked under. I hope you’ve all had a good weekend blippers.  

Where did the word graffiti come from.
1851



The word 'Graffiti' is derived from the Greek word 'Graffein', meaning to write, draw, or scratch, and the label came about long before the arrival of Cornbread in Philadelphia in the late 1960s. In fact, the term was first coined in 1851 when inscriptions were found scratched into the walls of the ruins of Pompeii.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.