John's PhotoJournal

By RIlurky

Swallow Hard

I watch this guy for about 20 minutes or so this morning. When I first saw him I thought he was a gull who had an eel in his mouth. As he was adjusting to swallow he was divebombed by a couple of gulls, but he dove. He stayed down way longer than a gull would and that's when I realize he was not a gull after all. Once he surfaced I watched him for some time and snapped quite a few blips. While doing so he raised up, stretched, and I can only assume adjusted what he had swallowed.

It's unusual to see a loon on the river. I also saw a pair of hooded mergansers and red-breasted mergansers. I've never seen either of those along the river. I'm guessing that the blizzard drove them off course and they might have been resting and feeding.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.