Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

The Imposter

Today’s album cover recreation - Elvis Costello’s 1978 classic, ‘This Years Model’ - was requested by the mighty Sara Evans www.blipfoto.com/SaraEvans Thanks to her for the suggestion! I know it’s a favourite album of hers so I hope I haven’t let her down! It was certainly a fun way to spend my lunch break. Working from home does have some perks, I suppose!

Punctuation pedants will notice the lack of an apostrophe in the title but that’s how it was done on the original cover, so I’m simply following suit! Sadly, I could only manage the original artwork’s italics if I used a really terrible font, so I’ve stuck to something closer to the original but have had to forego the italics. Very annoying.

The original Costello cover shot was taken by Chris Gabrin and there’s quite an interesting story behind the artwork (there were different versions in the UK and US), which you can see/read about here https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/This_Year%27s_Model
Today’s song is, of course, one of the singles from the album... ‘Pump It Up’ https://youtube.com/watch?v=3Y71iDvCYXA

“Hell bent or heaven sent
Listen to the propaganda
Listen to the latest slander...”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.