Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Common Lizards

Pete and I were back in South Lincolnshire today for a walk round Morkery Wood, with the aim of recording the flora of the eastern part of the wood, which has far fewer records than the remainder. Our route took us on a track along the southern boundary where we found a huge dead oak tree, which had become an ideal habitat for a Common Lizard colony. We saw at least six individuals, basking in the late summer sunshine, but this adult and juvenile were the most confiding - possibly mother and baby?

The route I'd planned proved to be a failure - I had thought we would be able to cross from the farm track to a woodland ride, but this no longer existed. We eventually found a mown path into the wood, but this had been cut to allow deer control and came to an abrupt end so we followed a deer track towards the surfaced track- but then found a six-foot deer fence! in the way. Luckily a badger had forced a way through the bottom of the fence, so I found myself scrambling through this commando-style! All good exercise I suppose!
.
When we arrived home I nearly jumped out of my skin, as there was a stuffed pheasant on my office chair, which I fleetingly mistook for a live one. It was a present from Charley, Alex's girlfriend, who has studied taxidermy. She's just about to move house and thought one or two pieces that she doesn't have room for would be at home in our madhouse.

Chris and Lizzy came over for dinner, which was a very delicious black bean chilli, served with garlicky grilled sweetcorn, lime rice, a salad and lots of sprinkles. For dessert we had summer pudding - I only just managed to fit it in this year! A really lovely evening to mark the end of summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.