One click at a time

By KeithKnight

March the Month 14,309 steps - Day 1

A good day to start the March the Month fund raiser for Prostate Cancer UK. I did a half day's work this morning and went out this afternoon for a good walk. 

I liked the increasing height of these and the way that they were catching the sunlight with much of the background in shade.

Stats for today's walk were 5.9 miles with a total climb of 1626 feet (interestingly the total descent was only 1615 feet, so my house must have moved up 11 feet while I was out!) with a total of 11,425 steps on the walk and the remainder of the 14,309 steps at home.

Not bad for someone with a dicky ticker, dodgy knees and dodgier prostate. the aim is to clock up in excess of 11,000 steps, 1 for every man who dies every year from Prostate Cancer in the UK. I was diagnosed with this cancer early in the lock down.

Prostate cancer is now the most commonly diagnosed cancer in the UK and each year more than 11,000 men die from the disease. The impact of the coronavirus crisis means that life-saving research is at risk. Men have never needed your support more to protect research into better tests and treatments to stop prostate cancer being a killer.

I know that due to Covid things are tough for many people out there (my own income is down by 50%), but if you can spare something please do support me. 

https://www.justgiving.com/fundraising/MarchtheMonth2020-KeithKnight

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.