MerlinJ

By MerlinJ

Loved, Loving and Lovely

I pass this graveyard each time I go into town, but I've never been in to it until this morning, when the light over the frosty morning was creating an interesting atmosphere.

I love walking around graveyards - they give me a real sense of connectedness both to the place and to the people. We're all on different journeys, but we all have the same destination (in this lifetime, at least - who knows what happens next?). It still moves me to read someone's name who is separated from me often by centuries, but who was loved and remembered in a simple, basic human way, and in the way that I hope I am loved, and love others.

One of the epitaphs moved me so much, it is the one I want to have on my gravestone. It simply said ...

"Loved, Loving and Lovely"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.