About to turn

By jMcLean

Dinner rolls and ghosts

Made a batch of yeast rolls to go with some seafood chowder this evening...I'm not a complete novice at bread making (though close), but something always seems to go wrong. Anyway, this was forgiving enough and tasted good.

Deep discussions these days about college selections and applications, life goals, time management, anxiety, etc. with daughter I. Scheduling for the upcoming high school year is at last nearly complete for both kids. School starts September 8 and will be completely online. Somehow this made scheduling more difficult.

At dusk, full of chowder and rolls, W. and I walked the hill. It's cooler but oppressively humid, raining lightly at times as if wringing out the sky. At the top, a very welcome breeze. The sky was soft and heavy with colors like on the skin of a plum. On the way back down (just me; W. went on ahead for a run) a barred owl swooped close overhead. I thought I saw a pale figure moving at the end of a driveway, near the gates for the big old house that's set back from the road, and a pale lower patch that might be a dog she was walking. But when I got closer there was no one there. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.