Julian Alaphilippe wins Le Tour's Stage 2

Having watched the highlights yesterday of the first day of 'Le Tour de France', after the getting home from the market, I made an effort to catch today's action which promised to be quite interesting.

Over the last decade I've become more and more fascinated by the event, and even managed to watch in person a couple of times. 

Tonight as dusk descended outside I had the notion to grab a photo of the tv as the highlights neared the climax of the day's race. 

I took a few different pictures as the front riders approached the finish of the seafront of Nice on the Cote d'Azur. I spent virtually every summer holiday camping by the beach on that coast, although 100 kilometres further eastwards, so I have an affection for the light and memories.

Here you see Julian Alaphilippe grabbing the front of the race just 4 kms from the line, It was closely fought between him and two other riders. But I'm glad he won, as for some time France has not had winners of their race. He was shattered at the end and in tears when he was interviewed minutes later. His father had died just a few months ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.