a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Remains of the day

Wide Wednesday: Book Titles - remains of the day

The day has been pretty overcast and wet.  I went across to Dad's first thing to do some last minute tidying up in preparation for the visitors.  

As I got home it had just started to rain.  Cathy had just hung out some washing but as it was already wet, there didn't seem much point in bring it in.  The occasional showers that had been forecast turned into fairly continuous rain, or one sort or another, for the rest of the afternoon.  It has stopped raining now, and indeed there is some watery late evening sunshine but we've given up on hanging the laundry outside to dry for today :-)

Dinner was easy - we need to defrost one of our freezers and I took the opportunity to use up some daal and lamb dishes that I had prepared previously.  I sometimes think that curry that has been frozen tastes even better than freshly cooked curry.  I can't decide whether that is because I haven't had to spend ages in the cooking before we sit down to eat, or whether the chilling, freezing and reheating process actually allows the tastes to meld and improve.  Perhaps something of both?

We were digging through the DVD collection earlier to produce a suitable collection to help stave off the boredom of the quarantining visitors.  Cathy remembered her copy of the musical Fame and has settled down in the lounge to watch it.  I think I might stay in the study tonight :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.