What struck my fancy

By TonyLuxton

Sussing it out

I might have cracked it. The problem has been to be at the river (Great Ouse) when big vessels, rather than the much smaller trawlers, are coming by. Marine traffic sites are often inaccurate being a day or two out sometimes. The best guide is to use a site that tells you when the pilot boat is en route. The trawlers don't need the pilot's services, but the big ships do as they negotiate the sandbanks at the mouth of the river.

Two hours before high tide the pilot boat left harbour so I reckoned that a trip to the river an hour before high tide would allow me to set up and catch one of the big cargo vessels. It worked, I got two, one leaving and one coming in. This is the Netherlands registered Antwerp, approaching the docks.

The extra shows Eastern Vanquish leaving port.

A view at low tide
https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2595381268099106177

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.