fotoflarewithclare

By tookie

Poppin seed pods!

These are jewel weeds seed pods that eventually will pop and burst open spreading their seeds . Jewel weed usually grows near creeks , ditches, common bottomlands and has a tiny orange flowers in the impatiens capensis family. When you put its leaf in water and turn it on it’s back it turns silver. This plant has been used for centuries by native Americans and herbalists to treat poison ivy, poison oak, eczema and other itches.
When my son was young , I would show him on our walks how to touch the seed pods and watch them burst open. They tickle your hand. When grandson Z visited last month I showed him this too.
I know I’m posting this late and not really entering the challenge of course. Just getting a back blip in. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.