simisue

By simisue

FEATHERY ABSTRACT

This Blip may be a stretch as an abstract, but I really like the texture & the shimmery color of these inflorescences.  If you have ever had this invasive plant call your garden home, you will never forget the razor sharp, blade-like leaves.  

If I didn't know better,  I would think the PAMPAS GRASS (SEE EXTRA)
(CORADERIA selloana) might be a great plant, especially as an ornamental grass on roads, cliffs, river banks or wide open spaces.  

PAMPAS GRASS is native to South America but has found its way around the world where it has become invasive.  It can grow almost anywhere & is such a problem in Hawaii & New Zealand, it has been banned.  It displaces native plants by depleting ground nutrients & blocking sunlight.  It is also very fast growing.....

Many years ago, this plant became a "volunteer" in our side yard.
After being sliced  from head to toe while trying to trim it, I learned
why it is a menace.  

When I lived in Michigan, a gardening instructor handed out a
"DO NOT PLANT," list & I think this should be on it.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.