Never Forget

A wonderfully affirming start to the day.

Before beginning my first lesson of the day, I always start with an On This Day In History  event. Today's event was from 1957, the day when the Little Rock Nine tried to attend the segregated Central High School and were prevented from doing so by the National Guard and angry white parents, despite Brown vs Board Of Education of Topeka having outlawed racial segregation in schools in 1954. 

Why was this affirming? Because one child in my class said, "Mr. Lewington, there are a lot of people in America who are starting to think the same way again now, aren't there?"

What could I reply? With repressed feelings rage, sadness and pride, I replied, "Yes, I am very sad to say there are. It makes me sad and angry, but it's true. And not just in America, either. But I am very proud of you for taking an interest in what is happening in the world. One day, maybe you can help to make things better."

Let's hear it for the children. They are the light of the future.

September

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.