Picture Consequences

By consequences

Shadowplay

At the foot of the stairs, there was a basement area - unlit, except for the late afternoon daylight coming through small windows that must have been at ground level.

Peering into the gloom, I could make out the brick-lined walls. In a pool of light from one of the windows was a sign saying "G2" but there was no other clue as to what this referred to - though I noticed there was a door near to it. There seemed to be nothing of interest here: perhaps I ought to try the handle.

As I headed toward the door, I was vaguely aware of movement in a shadowy corner.

"Hello, Mr Mackie," said a voice, calmly and deliberately. "Or perhaps I should call you Alan? It's so good to see you again - quite frankly I was beginning worry that you wouldn't find us. But I see that once again, I should trust Miss Wilson here."

Two figures were now picked out by the warm fading light.

The man I didn't recognise. But there, standing next to him, was Kate.



Story begins here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.