They'd barely started this field, but it was too wet to harvest, and there's more rain approaching. Time to make those pedals fly...

Met one of my neighbours earlier at the supermarket, and had a social distanced blether. There was mention of age, related to, "how long did I think I'd be able to keep up with all the cycling about, especially with a shopping loaded bike?" When I mentioned, all being well, reaching "bus pass age" in a few months, he had the common disbelief reaction, to which I usually quip, "You obviously thought I was well passed that already." He'd mistakenly thought I was a good few years younger than him, rather than a couple of years older. Have been caught out the other way with a few work colleagues lately, that I'd thought were of similar vintage, or older, only to find out they were younger... one was ten years younger than me. The old gag then ensues, "you must have had a hard paper round," but only when out of striking range, and with a clear exit route.

Have a lovely weekend. I'll be investigating the local Blackthorn bushes, to see how the sloes are coming on this year - on behalf of someone with too much gin in their house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.