Chris Jepson

By ChrisJepson

The Human Rights Defender.

Jason Jones is an LGBTQ+ human rights defender originally from Trinidad & Tobago and has lived and worked in Britain for over 30 years.  He refers to himself as being “Tringlish” and as a person of colour.

On April 12 2018, he won a landmark legal challenge at the High Court of Trinidad and Tobago which decriminalised adult consensual same sex intimacy. This win guarantees freedom for nearly 100,000 Caribbean LGBT people and was cited in the recent decriminalisation victory in India!

Image is part of my Identity Project that explores what it means to identify as a member of the LGBTQ+ community today.

Each sitter is asked, "What does your Identity mean to you?"
Jason's response, "Being Bi-Racial, and Bi-National, being born in the 60’s when social upheaval was happening for people of colour and/or LGBTQ+, my identity has been a major part of my lived experience and how I live and work, has always been coloured by these contrasting identities that challenged the status quo at the time. My mere EXISTENCE was revolutionary! And I continue to challenge injustice and prejudice wherever and whenever I see it."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.