A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

Travelling or Not...

Back Blip, posted 5th Sept. 

Oh Matilda, you were doing so well!

On Thursday evening I started driving Matilda to North Yorkshire from Kent. A total of 242 miles to be done on the most direct route with plenty of stops. I wanted to do the trip when there was less traffic on the roads.

The A1(M) near Grantham was closed for overnight work and my satnav sent us on a very big loop that involved the A15 and A17. Not ideal but I wasn't in a rush.

As it was getting light we made our way through the southern sections of Yorkshire and I took another break at the Wetherby Services. For a number of years, Matilda and I have been going to a classic car rally at Pateley Bridge nearby. This year we had to miss out. 

Maybe Matilda thought we were on our way to the show because no sooner did we passed junction 47 (to Pateley) she stopped working! It was if she had run out of petrol. We glided to a halt within 1/3rd mile from the junction. Can a car throw a temper tantrum? 

The traffic was heavy and loud but I managed to call the breakdown guys and within an hour and just 17 miles further, we arrived at my friend's house where she will stay until we move up too. The fix should not be too hard, we believe it was down to the rota arm failing, which in turn messed up the distributor cap. Parts are on way.

This is the set of images I tried to post yesterday via my phone. I will post again later for today's Blip. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.