Liftoff

I sat down on the porch chair to take pictures of the goldfinches enjoying their spa time this morning and caught these two just as they were lifting off. It's not a great photo of them but I liked the motion.

We were just getting ready to go check out spring Lake for the first time in months when Dana came by with Blake and stayed to trim all of our many lavender bushes. I took a picture of our house* but didn't stay out there for long as the temperature was approaching 100º. Dana came in soon after smelling of lavender and not, as I would have expected, of sweat! 

I'm about to take on a new sewing project. Check out Alabama Chanin.com if you're interested in seeing designer clothing designed by Natalie Chanin and hand sewn by local women in and around Florence, Alabama. I met Natalie years ago when she came to Berkeley to teach a sewing workshop and tell the story of how she came to start her own company. She is a fascinating and entertaining woman. 

In addition to her eye wateringly expensive couture offerings, she also has DIY kits, patterns and sewing supplies. I've made lots of her designs, especially the skirts. Here's a link to one of them on one of my first Blipfoto entries. I lost interest in hand sewing at about the same time as I lost interest in making quilts,  I got out some of my books and looked through them with Dana today with an eye to making her something for her birthday. Since it's in less than two weeks, it probably won't be done in time. 

Between the fires and the disarray in the postal service, I'm not sure I can even get the materials in time. 

*extra

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.