Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

The "Modernized" Y

As I was leaving the Y after pickleball today I ran into CEO/Executive Director Dave Harding, and asked him where I could find a photo of the building's modernized facade that I referred to in my recent one street blip. I'd seen the photo, but couldn't remember where. It was hanging on the wall just inside the main entrance on State Street. My excuse for not remembering is that I usually enter through the rear entrance, from the parking lot across the alley.

Dave told me that the metal screens and the lower panels covering the brickwork were installed in the 1960s, and removed around 1994. The removal cost more than the installation. I was sorry to hear that an attractive decorative feature was destroyed during the installation, and not replaced.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.