Chriss

By Chriss

Kiwi

flightless & nocturnal bird of New Zealand
Not usually as colourful as these ones though
Let me tell the saga of today's blip
I went for a walk today contemplating a dilemma
I work in a very lower socio-economic area & there are lot of run down, grim & very monochromaticly (is that a word?) photogenic houses
The dilemma being that these are people's lives - not just photogenic lumps of brick & wood & stone
People's homes
So is it okay to photograph them?
Or is it intrusive & exploitative?
All for the sake of pretending to be art?
Anyway my dilemma hasn't been resolved, but I came upon this house of colour
You know how some things make you smile on the inside & make your soul happy?
It belongs to a New Zealand artist, Janet de Wagt & was in our local paper last year
Here's a link to the article:
http://www.odt.co.nz/news/dunedin/237193/artists-house-colourful-picture
Anyway, I got to talking to her briefly (she was on her way out) & she said to call in next time I was walking past & she'd show me around inside
A casual invitation that I am definitely going to follow up on



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.