Bradders

By Bradders

Ok I think my blipfoto needs a little life update.

It's been pretty stressful.

So a month ago I finished my previous job and was looking forward to time off. On day one I agreed terms to my following contract, due to start three weeks later. I was hoping to explore WA and dedicate time to friendships and my relationship during that time, but spent most of it with a bad cold and self isolating at home. I found it very tough so big respect to those that are still dealing with that.

I did manage to get out and enjoy some of the short (~5 week) WA whitewater season which was good. Did a bit of climbing when I could too.

My work medicals kept getting pushed back and pushed back and eventually I completed them all, only to be asked to take a covid test and go into isolation while I waited for the results. They came pretty quickly and it was all good. Simultaneous to this I responsibly injured my thumb and hands in a kayaking accident, all healed now, I have a black thumb nail because of that.

A few days later I started my new job as an exploration geologist based out of a mine site in WA. Fly in fly out 8 days on 6 days off. The same roster as 3 of my friends so I get to spend my breaks with them. The job is quite challenging especially as I lacked guidance at the start, but over the week I picked up quite a lot and met some good people. Looking forward to returning though I know there will still be a lot of stress and much to learn. The facilities at the mine site are stellar so that's great.

On my last day before flying back I got a text saying I had about 2 weeks to move out, as my flatmates had bought a house, no lease and a pretty casual rental agreement meant I couldn't really argue. The first few days of my break were incredibly stressful going from room viewing to room viewing while also making the most of being healthy enough to see friends again. I went to 5 viewings, said no to 4, and after some tense waiting the last one said they needed another week to make a decision and look at more candidates.

Because my current housemates have such soured relationship with me I decided to move out sooner rather than later, so tomorrow I'm going to move to a friends house. That's one big positive of this time, friends have been so so good in offering everything that they can, from storage to accommodation to searching for places for me. Faith has definitely been restored.

While I have taken a few knocks recently I'm still feeling huge momentum behind me, excited to get stuck into this new job, spend more time with friends, find a better household to live in and make my time in Perth better every day.




As for today, I got up early to go do some orienteering in the Perth hills. Dragged along two friends who had no idea what they were getting in for. On the way back we did some 4x4ing on some crazy off-road tracks spontaneously. In the evening I went to a climbers friends movie party, first was cliffhanger, an awesome movie to watch with a bunch of climbers, then we did some slightly intoxicated table traversing, following that was the movie point break. A pretty full and fun weekend, much needed. Tomorrow I'll be packing up, cleaning and moving my things and myself to my friends place, I'll stay there a couple of days before heading to work, hopefully to find a new place to live by the time I get back to Perth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.