Recommended

Another rainy day so I was able to finish "The Salt Path" by Raynor Winn. A very good read. Though I heard there were also some misgivings about the book. I don't know what they'd be about. I liked the writing, the descriptions of all they encountered and saw during their walk and their own personal struggles and journey.

The book got 5 out of 5 stars from me.

My review on Goodreads:
What a story. And to think it is a true story. Written in a lighthearted way. I didn't really feel the actual hardship they must've had. The despair they must've felt. There is the odd breakdown, but hoppa, on they go again.

But my mind and imagination did register the hardship they experienced. How it must've touched them.

And she made the problem of homelessness insightful. A problem not only for UK citizens, but one that is present throughout the world. I was struck by a remark about how we as society would cope with them if they washed ashore in boats. We'd be ready to feed, cloth and house them.

An inspirational story. I'm looking forward to reading her next book.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.