Just the Withers......

By JaneW

Oh you know . 18km for a bit of fun .

Popped out to do a walk to give us a benchmark for the 50km IN THREE WEEKS ... thought it was 10km ended up being 18km but hey what’s 8 extra when you’ve signed up for 50 ... it was as usual not without incident , I’ve got the most amazing SLASH MARKS on my ankles which incidentally were bleeding I’ll have you know due to a violent altercation with a bramble bush, Julie went over a corker on her ankle , the waymarkers had been sabotaged AND some of the gates which led between the public rights of way .. I guess this corona thingy really has messed with grown adults minds even more than normal .. sigh .. ANYWAY we improvised which led to a near fatal attack from the racehorse shown in the actual Blipfoto .. racehorses are quite highly strung animals you know ... we also encountered a field of corn 30ft high which gave me the willies as all I could think of was the horror films JEEPERS CREEPERS and The children of the corn ... our fingers were accidentally trapped in a makeshift gate .. ironically I’d actually told Julie to be careful then it was in fact me who trapped her fingers before I did my own .. sigh.. can I also interject we RAN some of this !! Then we got zapped by a bloody electric fence , nearly died at the hooves of 47 friesian cows and didn’t take enough snacks ... we did meet some lovely dogs though . The sun came out which wasn’t planned so we ended up being even more dehydrated than we should have been and the piste de resistance was the BRIDGE ... one side had collapsed so we SHUFFLED sideways over the other bit and thought ‘what could possibly go wrong’ ... .... next week when my knee has healed we are going a 11 km loop TWICE over at the giant hills of Broadway ..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.