Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

The Briefest of Opportunities

I had intended to roll over and go back to sleep, but our cat had other ideas, calling from outside the bedroom door to be fed.  L was oblivious to the miaowing, but I tuned in so after a few minutes I got up.  As ever I looked east out of the window as I passed the spare bedroom.  Blue sky was seen, but also plenty of cloud, still it was probably worth a quick walk to see what was around.

I visited the field where I often see the deer first thing, but on this occasion they were nowhere to be seen.  The sunrise was also looking underwhelming with a stubborn bank of cloud near the horizon.  I did notice a couple of red deer on the far side of the field in the picture, but they also saw me and headed into the undergrowth.  I'd taken a few photos as a bit of mist had formed over the pasture, then the sun broke through. It is amazing how the sunlight instantly transformed the scene.  I used one of my favourites tricks and placed the sun behind the major tree in the field. Even the clouds seemed to work in my favour framing the tree's crown.  

Technical: A 5 shot HDR image, 1 Stop apart. A 3 stop Reverse Grad on the sky.  Processed in Lightroom.


After getting home we headed out towards Barr Beacon, walking along footpaths between there and Walsall, including the Dingle local nature reserve.  In the afternoon I watched the cricket on the BBC.  An absolute pleasure to watch live cricket without adverts.  And we (i.e. England) won!.

The day was topped off with a dinner cooked by L and the company of her mother.  All in all a very enjoyable day.

Day Miles:  5.6 miles. Total Miles: 1,076.7miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.