Pictorial blethers

By blethers

The new normal

Listening to the news this evening, I dimly heard as through a fog (do we hear any differently in fog? or is this simply a pathetic analogy?) that the Scottish infection rates for Covid_19 are rising rapidly, especially in Glasgow. I heard also that this is "in line" with "opening up the economy" - in other words, the moment we start going about our business in a manner compatible with normal exchanges, the genie is out of the bottle and rampaging about among us. And I realised I wasn't panicking. Now, this lack of panic could be to do with the utter torpor that was rendering my attention span as that of a flea, but it did make me think. Have we, in fact, grown used to the idea that life out there is suddenly much more dangerous? And, having realised this, are we all seeking our paths through or around the situation, deciding almost without thought that we'll avoid doing this but maybe give that a try because common sense suggests that it'll be more or less all right?

One of the releases that we've allowed ourselves to participate in is the physical attendance at church. I'd say that there were probably three people who are older than me and Mr PB at church today; the rest of the old and infirm are staying away for now, participating in online services. And Mr PB and I are still recording the hymns for these services. But I have to say that on mornings like today, I'm glad we made the decision we did. In fact, today I realised how fortunate I am to be in a position to act as cantor (because at the moment the rules allow for one, distanced, careful singer) and sing during the Communion. So many people came up to express gratitude that I felt quite overcome - because doing it gives me so much. People say it restores a sense of normality, the feeling that there's more going on than our words can convey. So if this is the new normal, then I'm incredibly grateful that it allows me to do one of the things I most enjoy.

Tomorrow my Pilates class returns to the studio. I'm looking forward to not hitting my head on the bookcase in the study, but I'm not entirely sure how I feel about that low ceilinged space. Taking my own mat - I'll let you know how it pans out.

Bet my balance goes with the different perspective!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.