In The Occupied Territory

By FinHall

Sword of Damicles

For months now I have had something hanging over my head like The Sword of Damicles.
Last July whilst out working. one Friday night Saturday morning, I was driving down South College Street in Aberdeen, when I noticed 4 men walking up the middle of the dual carriageway. I drove carefully towards them expecting them to get out of the way.
2 did, but one of the others just barely stepped to the side, whilst the last guy stood right in front of my car. I tried to maneuver around him, but he kept going to where I wanted to go. He then proceeded to climb onto the front of my car, and despite me moving the car slowly he refused to get off.
By now I was a bit concerned for my safety, as the other chap tried my door handle, but my car was locked.
I moved the car forward slowly with him still standing on the bumper to get to busier part of the city, Bridge Steet, which was only a couple of hundred yards away.
On arriving a police car saw what was happening, and when I came to a halt, he stepped off the front of the car and offered himself up for arrest.
I was told that no statement was needed as cctv had seen everything.
Off I went.
On;y to receive a call a couple of days later that they now required a statement, and that I was being charged with dangerous driving, which has a statutory sentence of a fine and one year's diving ban.
ME, THE INNOCENT PARTY.
Anyway after months of angst, the intermediate court case was today, and despite the fact that I was sure I would be found not guilty, it has been an anxious 7 months.
I met my solicitor at the court, and he informed me, that after extensive discussions with the Procurator Fiscal, that they had decided to dismiss the case.
I was so relieved, as losing my license meant my business would have gone under.
Happy is not a strong enough word for it.
Meantime, I should get my car back form the garage tomorrow.
This old clock and barometer, which shows CHANGE, which is an apt description of my mood now, and the time I left the court, sits on the wall at the building which houses the court and the town house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.