New reality day 41

No renovations today, only trip to our capitol, my birthplace and former hometown, Helsinki.

My husband went to see his granddad (age 95, still lives alone in his apartment with some helps naturally) and i had an appointment with a vascular surgeon at a private hospital.

He did an ultrasound examination and indeed I have inoperative "flap" on both legs, I think two on the right one and they need to be operated on. Luckily he can do laser and the foam procedure and not the dig the vain off with a hook. I'll have it done first of October. I would have gone tomorrow if they had had any openings, but that was the first available date. So it's a date!

He said that the pain that took me to the emergency room was not the varicose. That that doesn't happen that suddenly. He suggested that I might have something bit broken of inflamed in my knee of the joints. He checked that area also with the ultrasound (he was very kind) and saw nothing dramatic, but that area will also need to have the foam procedure.

I wish I could afford always to go to the private hospital. They even served coffee free! I took of course. :-)  This hospital in Eira was built 1905, so it's older than Finland itself. It was very cool in that sense.

When we got near Helsinki dramatic clouds were gathering together up in the sky. When I went into the hospital it was raining a bit. When I left (about 50 minutes later) it wasn't raining. I had about 8 minute walk to my parent's place. It started to rain moderately and I found one ledge to go under. Which was so lucky because all of a sudden it came down like from a faucet! I would have been soaked in under a minute. So I waited there under the ledge for about 10 minutes. My mom came to get me with an extra umbrella. As soon as we met, the rain stopped. Apparently it was thundering all over, but not over us. Just this insane downpour that got the streets flooded for few minutes.

Then I spent some time with my parents. We had coffee and chat. I also got some cutlery that my aunt had sent me and some more needed dishes.

I used my social security card today, even if we still haven't reinstated our asylum in Finland. Here if you visit a private doctor, you will get them to pay a small cut of the cost (they have a price list). So I used it, even if I'm not with my full citizenship yet. I'm bit worried about it. The discount was only 10€ from 150€, so if they'll invoice it from me, I can afford it. We should have been reinstated one month after our arrival (that's what it says next to our applications on the website), but IRL I knew it could be up to 3 months. They apparently are just so busy. But I used it even if I possibly shouldn't have.

So no renovations today. Kind of a day off. We'll possibly put one door back in it's place. Those are heavy bastards, so that's work enough.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.