Monday Osprey

I decided not to go to Panshanger Park over the weekend to try to better my shots of the osprey as I thought it might be too busy. As it happened the bird didn't fish Osprey Lake and flew too high for decent shots.

Ollie dog and I arrived there today mid morning. The viewpoint was crowded with photographers so we went and sat on the bench where I had photographed the bird from last Friday. It wasn't long before we got a fly by with the big bird being harried by brave jackdaws. Not long after that it stooped but didn't manage to catch a fish. Just after I'd eaten my lunch and had my 35mm macro on shooting a beetle, it appeared again pursued by a red kite. I fumbled my 400mm back on and got the above shots. The fish has lost its head and tail in the tussle. Unfortunately the osprey's grip on the fish is not how they like it, it's dangling rather than being held parallel with the bird's body. I heard that the osprey dropped it. Lucky red kite.

I stopped on the way back to the car at the viewing point as Rose had told me about the wasp spiders near there.(Extras) On our way again we met Stuart running towards the gaggle of photographers. The osprey had reappeared. We all watched as it caught a large trout and seemed to be having trouble flying off with it. (Extras) Shame the promised blue sky didn't materialise. 

I feel very privileged to have witnessed this. We met lots of nice people who I'm sure feel the same.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.