Aliscotia

By Aliscotia

Birdland with a different camera

Today Jussiediva accompanied Rob and I to Birdland with the Nikon Z7 (mirrorless) camera, Rob's D850 and  a D500. What fun we had! We all had a shot with the Z7 (thank you Justine!) as Rob and I have been wondering whether to make the move to mirrorless too. 

I particularly enjoyed using the Nikon d500, what quick focusing it had and very tolerant ISO too. But the Z7 was the real focus of the day. Rob found it a bit small in the hand whereas Justine and I really appreciated the weight and the grip. If Nikon bring out a new macro for the Z series and the overall weight is better than my current combo then I will definitely consider it seriously. Although I baulked initially at the electronic viewfinder  I managed to use it effectively and think I would get used to it. And on a bright day (which we had today) it is helpful to see the image you have taken in the viewfinder to check focus.
 
All in all, a lovely day out and a useful experiment. The pelicans appealed today, both posing and preening (extras) and I thought you might like to see the new flamingo chick and also the chicks from about 10 weeks ago now, alongside the new one. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.