SunRISE

We woke up at 4.30 to a pitch black house. Smell of smoke everywhere in spite of all windows closed. We had gotten a government warning of a possible catastrophe because of strong winds and heightened fire danger. Well , it was certainly burning somewhere but not directly in our neighborhood. Ash in the air outside and an orange moon.
No internet, radio or tv, no phone, so it felt a bit like the end of the world.
Two hours later it slowly dawned and the sun was blood red. We were in urgent need for some tea or coffee so we made some water boil on the bbq in the yard - that worked well and lifted our spirits.
By 8.30 the electricity came back on, the house awoke to life again, lots of little beeps and clicks when all our loyal daily helpers came on....:phone, coffeemachine, dishwasher, fridge and freezer.
I learned that I did not know how to open our garagedoor without electricity...
We then met a neighbor who told us that the fire was about 13 miles away, as the crow flies. It had been contained several days ago but the howling winds must have reawakened it.

I might be close to a blip anniversary, they count 5 years.
In reality I am enjoying you and your Journals since 7 years. I started on September 13, 2013 I believe and after three years of posting really every day, I gave myself some slack, worth obviously 2 full years.
Nevermind, you stayed with me all this time, gave your wonderful comments, stars and hearts even in the periods when I could not find the time or energy to visit yours and for that I am very very grateful!
Blip now is a real journal for me that helps me to remember what happened to the hours of each day. I give the quality of my shots less energy than I did 4 years ago. Most days my iPhone replaces a real camera.
But it is this wonderful community, I. E. YOU, that is most important for me.
And here is also a big ‘thank you’ to our “courageous four” who keep this wonderful website up!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.