La vida de Annie

By Annie

Puesta de sol.

New Normality day 80.
A not-too-scary trip to the supermarket for a few essentials today, in that there weren't many other shoppers, and only a few were nose-danglers or blundering around oblivious to anyone else. Although with a lot of tourists now gone it feels a bit safer, in other ways it still feels like being an extra in a zombie movie, with the undead coming at you from all directions. I can't imagine how to get out of this mindset of being ultra-careful not to pass on an invisible virus, or avoid catching it. It's not that I'm particularly scared for myself - I had a near-death event in August 2011 and came to a more chilled understanding of mortality. I just understand that this is a hugely devastating global event, and every one of us has a simple part to play to defeat it: keep away from others. I despair when seeing people carrying on as normal, going out to restaurants and events because "you can't wrap yourself in cottonwool". We haven't eaten out, not even a coffee, since February, and I feel bad for the establishments making a loss through lack of customers, but to me it's about the bigger picture. I sure many of you will disagree, but that's just my opinion and how I am personally dealing with things. I missed having family to visit for the first time this year - although they would probably have risked it, as many did, it just seemed wrong. I don't know when I will see any of them again, and that's upsetting. A nice phone call from #1D this evening cheered me up considerably though, and this sunset seen from the back of the house helped too.
It's not over yet. Stay safe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.